Bombay Sapphire is Glory in a Blue Bottle

Guess what?

I like gin.

I’ve always liked gin. Probably before it was legal for me to like gin, I liked gin. It was the smell of gin that I loved. All herbaceous and non-violating to my delicate senses.

Bombay Sapphire is my favorite. It must be the “10 exotic botanicals” including almond, lemon peel, liquorice, juniper berries, orris root, angelica, coriander, cassia, cubeb, and grains of paradise. Actually, I highly recommend checking out their site for some education on what some of those ingredients actually are.

So, it’s no surprise that gin is my drink of choice when I go out.

And when I stay in.

Disclaimer: I am not an alcoholic. Please don’t jump to conclusions. Okay, go ahead. You’re probably right about whatever you were thinking . . .

By the way, Bombay Sapphire is happily completely vegan.

Edited May 1, 2012 to add:

I’ve had someone ask about whether Bombay Sapphire is gluten-free. I’ve also seen a lot of search engine traffic find this post asking that very same question. In our case, Levi has never experienced any gluten issues with Bombay Sapphire. He’s never had a gut or skin reaction. That being said, we are aware that there is some discussion about whether or not spirits, including gin, are truly gluten-free. For this reason, I feel like I should be clear that just because Levi doesn’t have a problem with it, doesn’t mean every person with a gluten sensitivity, intolerance, or allergy will also be fine consuming it – or any other spirits for that matter. If you know of any 100% for-sure gluten-free gins out there, I’d be curious to know which ones and what you think of them.


  1. everything-free says

    Hello! Is this brand of gin also gluten-free? I’m assuming so from the title of your blog, but I just wanted to confirm! I have a significant amount of food allergies and have to be extremely careful with the distillation processes (many gluten-free alcohols contain or have been contaminated by oat or millet – neither of which I can consume). I’m sure there website has this information, but I thought I’d ask in the event that you knew! Thank you!

    • Megan says

      Hey there! Levi has never had any problem with Bombay Sapphire gin and he can be pretty sensitive. That being said, I notice there’s some controversy over spirits and which of them are truly gluten-free. I wouldn’t want to say Bombay Sapphire is safe for all with gluten intolerances or allergies because of this fact. Especially since you’re extremely sensitive as you’ve described, my instinct would say to avoid this – and likely all gins, for that matter.

      I am going to update the post to explain that Levi has never had an issue but add a warning/disclaimer just in case. I’d hate someone to get sick because he’s fine with it. (Goes to show how different each person with Celiac Disease can react differently, hey?)

      If you come across a truly gluten-free and safe gin, I’d love to hear about it!


  2. Rylan says

    PS. I especially love Levi’s special drink that he used to
    Bring over all the time fuzzy peach or what ever he called it dee-lish

    • Megan says

      Thanks for the suggestion Christine. I’ll be sure to look out for it on my next trip to the liquor store. I’ll never say no to trying a new brand of gin. 😀

Leave a Reply